NCTAF White Paper

Download White Paper
 
 

 

 

Featured Schools

King Middle School
King Middle School
Envision Schools
Envision Schools
Avalon Charter School
Avalon Charter School
MC2 STEM High School
MC2 STEM High School
Casco Bay High School
Casco Bay High School
Science Leadership
Science Leadership
Rochester High School
Rochester High School
High Tech High
High Tech High
 

buy amazon

 

[huge_it_video_player id=”4″]

PRAISE FOR DEEPER LEARNING

In the tradition of Ted Sizer, Pedro Noguera, Gloria Ladson-Billings, and other innovative thought leaders, Martinez and McGrath provide inspiring examples of what deeper, student-centered learning looks like in practice. Communities across the nation must use the principles outlined in this book to fundamentally transform schools into places where Deeper Learning flourishes as a rule rather than an exception.”
— Warren Simmons


“In the tradition of Ted Sizer, Pedro Noguera, Gloria Ladson-Billings, and other innovative thought leaders, Martinez and McGrath provide inspiring examples of what deeper, student-centered learning looks like in practice. Communities across the nation must use the principles outlined in this book to fundamentally transform schools into places where Deeper Learning flourishes as a rule rather than an exception.”
— Warren Simmons, executive director, Annenberg Institute for School Reform at Brown University

“Great examples with many that could be applied to any school. I will be sharing this with every educator that I know. “—Aaron Maurer


“The best book on education I have read in the year 2014. Really great look into what makes deeper learning possible for schools. Great examples with many that could be applied to any school. I will be sharing this with every educator that I know. “
—Aaron Maurer, Iowa Teacher of the Year Finalist and Instructional Coach, Bettendorf Schools in Bettendorf, Iowa
Read full review.

 

Read about the excellent schools showcased in the book and feel encouraged about education—Dr. Marciene Mattleman

 


PHILADELPHIA (CBS) – These days there are many books about the state of education– some describing the reasons why we have fallen behind other countries in student achievement, others with some answers on effectiveness in schooling. But a recently printed book caught my attention, “Deeper Learning” not by the title, but by its organization. In citing 8 schools that are “transforming education,” their strategies for change are not isolated into 8 chapters. Instead, where the value of partnerships is discussed, examples from various sites are described.

It was good seeing Philadelphia’s relationship of the Science Leadership Academy with The Franklin Institute set as an example. Mentors and “buddies” from the partner institutions are important in kids’ education, often providing volunteer and apprentice opportunities.

Dual attendance is common; students can enroll for college courses, and primarily teachers are easily accessible guides, not heavy lecturers. The goal is to instill critical thinking in all the students.

Read about the excellent schools showcased in the book and feel encouraged about education—Dr. Marciene Mattleman

“It is a fast read and will interest educators who want to produce self-motivated, passionate learners with a goal that looks beyond passing tomorrow’s quiz.”
— Maggie Knapp

 

 


The Deeper Learning (DL) movement stresses student-directed, collaborative work, critical thinking, mastery of essential content, effective communication, and problem-solving skills over education delivery methods used in schools today, which are portrayed as outdated, passive, and boring. Martinez (educational researcher and strategist) and McGrath (sociology, Community Coll. of Philadelphia; coauthor, The Collaborative Advantage: Lessons from K–16 Educational Reform) highlight eight public secondary schools, each with significant minority enrollments and free and reduced-price lunch populations, to show the DL principles in action. Flexible schedules, independent student work time, less teacher oversight, mentoring, networking with outside experts, and finding hooks that draw students into their own educational process are all discussed. One chapter speaks to technology, which is deemed an essential tool that ideally adds to, rather than interferes with, the educational process. VERDICT: This book offers a clear introduction to DL ideas and methods and the motivation behind them. It is a fast read and will interest educators who want to produce self-motivated, passionate learners with a goal that looks beyond passing tomorrow’s quiz. New Pr. Jun. 2014. 224p. notes. index. ISBN 9781595589590. $26.95; ebk. ISBN 9781595589941. ED—Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley Sch., Fort Worth, TX. Library Reviews

In the tradition of Ted Sizer, Pedro Noguera, Gloria Ladson-Billings, and other innovative thought leaders, Martinez and McGrath provide inspiring examples of what deeper, student-centered learning looks like in practice. Communities across the nation must use the principles outlined in this book to fundamentally transform schools into places where Deeper Learning flourishes as a rule rather than an exception.”
— Warren Simmons


“In the tradition of Ted Sizer, Pedro Noguera, Gloria Ladson-Billings, and other innovative thought leaders, Martinez and McGrath provide inspiring examples of what deeper, student-centered learning looks like in practice. Communities across the nation must use the principles outlined in this book to fundamentally transform schools into places where Deeper Learning flourishes as a rule rather than an exception.”
— Warren Simmons, executive director, Annenberg Institute for School Reform at Brown University

“It is a fast read and will interest educators who want to produce self-motivated, passionate learners with a goal that looks beyond passing tomorrow’s quiz.”
— Maggie Knapp

 

 


“Deeper Learning is both informed and informative. From California to Maine, eight exemplary public schools show us how teachers and principals are finding creative ways to impact the learning and life chances of high school youth. This book is a clarion call to celebrate the imagination and commitment of educators in these and other stellar public schools.”
— Mary Brabeck, Gale and Ira Drukier Dean, NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development

“Deeper Learning is a refreshing reminder that the best schools are defined by a commitment to motivating, challenging, and connecting students to their own lives and their own learning.”
— Elena Silva, senior associate, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

 

Deeper Learning: Now Available at Barnes & NobleDeeper Learning: Now Available at AmazonVisit Monica on Twitter